MadHat Press

Hoyt Rogers is a poet, novelist, essayist, and translator. Born in North America, he has spent most of his life in Latin America and Western Europe. He has published many books; he has contributed poetry, fiction, essays, and translations to a wide variety of literary reviews. He is the author of a chapbook of poems, Witnesses, as well as a study of Renaissance literature, The Poetics of Inconstancy. He translates from the French, German, Italian, and Spanish. His edition of Yves Bonnefoy’s Rome, 1630 received the 2021 Translation Prize from the French-American Foundation. He has translated four other books by Bonnefoy: The Curved Planks, the anthology Second Simplicity, The Digamma, and Together Still, the author’s final poetry collection. With Alastair Reid and others, he collaborated on the Selected Poems of Borges, and with Friedhelm Kemp, he published the first versions of George Oppen in German. With Paul Auster, he translated Openwork, an André du Bouchet reader; this was followed by a second anthology, Outside, with Eric Fishman. His forthcoming books include the novel Sailing to Noon (Spuyten Duyvil), volume one of The Caribbean Trilogy; and a translation of Bonnefoy’s The Wandering Life (Seagull Books). For more information, please visit his website,

 Thresholds, a poetry collection by Hoyt Rogers,
is now available from MadHat Press.


MadHat Press is a leading publisher of unique and vital contemporary poetry, fiction, nonfiction, and criticism.

MadHat Press seeks to foster the work of writers and poets: explosive, lyrical, passionate, deeply wrought voices that stretch the boundaries of language, narrative and image, vital and enduring literary voices that sing on the page as well as in the mind.

Contact Us
phone: (617) 821-1915

Mailing Address:
PO Box 422
Cheshire MA 01225